NEW Music: Sevyn Streeter “Call Me Crazy, But…” EP

Who is Sevyn Streeter?

Sevyn's Promo Pic

  • American Singer-Songwriter
  • Genres: R&B, Hip Hop, Pop, Dance
  • Label: CBE (Chris Brown’s record label) signed in March 2012
  • Influences: Aaliyah, Brandy, Toni Braxton, Mariah Carey, Yolanda Adams, Celine Dion, Whitney Houston, Earth, Wind & Fire
  • Sevyn has been in the “industry” for many years. I personally remember her being a member of the teenage girl group TG4 (Tom Girl 4) in the early 2000s (associated act of boy band B2K–I was a big fan..don’t judge me LOL). TG4 was a four member group that was one of the opening acts on the “Scream Tour” that was headlined by Bow Wow and B2K, but the group didn’t garner much success and disbanded.  In 2009, Sevyn was a member of another girl group “RichGirl” who eventually disbanded in 2011 due to poor commercial success.  RichGirl was even the opening act for Beyoncé’s I Am…Tour (North American leg). After the group disbanded, Sevyn continued to write songs for other artists (such as Alicia Keys, Mary J. Blige, Ariana Grande, Kelly Rowland, Fantasia) also including Chris Brown (“Yeah-3x”, “Strip”, and “Fine China”–just to name a few) which eventually led to her signing with his CBE record label in March 2012.

Sevyn Promo

Sevyn released her debut single as a solo artist in October of 2012, “I Like It” (not included on her EP).  This record was her breakthrough single and led up to the release of the lead single for her EP “It Won’t Stop” (feat. Chris Brown) (co-produced by Diplo of Mad Decent Records–be sure to check out that post). The video has over 10 million views on YouTube.

Album Cover

Released: December 3, 2013
1. Come On Over
2. It Won’t Stop (feat. Chris Brown)
3. Sex on the Ceiling
4. Call Me Crazy
5. B.A.N.S.
6. Shattered
7. nEXt

Watch Sevyn’s “It Won’t Stop” video feat. Chris Brown (It’s a nice slow jam, laidback song)

I think this is a solid project for Sevyn. 2014 should be a promising year for Sevyn. She has been working hard for many years and it appears that it’s finally HER time! My favorite tracks include the lead single “It Won’t Stop”, “Shattered” and “nEXt”.  “Shattered” explains how things can fall apart in a relationship and “nEXt” is wanting your EX to be your nEXt boyfriend/girlfriend.  Below is the teaser for her next single “Sex on the Ceiling.”

“Shattered” teaser

  • Follow Sevyn on Twitter @Sevyn for updates or check out her official website.
  • Purchase her album for $5.99 on iTunes! (It’s been in heavy rotation for the past few weeks on my end–hopefully you all will feel the same!)

Indie Label Highlight–Mad Decent

Mad Decent Logo

  • Label Name: Mad Decent
  • Artist Roster: (75 Artists Total) including Diplo, Riff Raff, Bonde Do Role, Dillon Francis, and Jeffree’s Crew
  • Founded and spearheaded in 2006 by: Wesley Pentz, better known as Diplo (3x-Grammy-nominated producer and world renowned DJ)
  • Philadelphia via L.A. Based Record Label
  • Imprint: Jeffree’s
  • Genres: Techno, Dancehall, Electropop, Hip Hop, Trap, Reggae Fusion, Moombahton
  • Mad Decent Records hosts a series of Annual Block Parties—they are typically a series of outdoor dance party/concerts held in select cities across the U.S. and Canada.
  • Mad Decent Records aims to bring new genres and cultures to light in the ever-diversifying music community.

Diplo (Founder of Mad Decent Records/Grammy Nominated Producer/World Renowned DJ)Diplo

Diplo (his alias, short for Diplodocus was derived from his childhood fascination with dinosaurs) said in a statement: “Our new extension of the label, Jeffree’s, is the best new music– the most progressive, the most amazing, the deepest underground and subterranean sounds from the Earth’s crust; the best sounds available and it’s free. It’s what Mad Decent was originally made for– new artists thinking outside of the box.” Diplo has also worked on production and mixtape projects with Justin Beiber, M.I.A., Beyonce, Snoop Lion, and Usher, along with other notable artists.

The idea behind Jeffree’s is to showcase innovative sounds from some of the world’s best up-and-coming producers.  A new single will be available for free every other Thursday on the Mad Decent website with higher resolution versions of the songs sold as part of a compilation that will be available on iTunes and Beatport every two months.

Mad Decent Records offers a premium account on its website for $10 a month.  Members who sign up for a premium account will receive releases before anyone else, receive a 15% discount in the merch store, access to selected releases from the label’s catalog, and exclusive remixes, mixtapes, and live sets.  Members can also stream or download all of the material whenever or wherever (WAV/MP3 formats).

Some of my favorite acts include Diplo, DJ Yellow Claw, Riff Raff..These tracks will definitely get the party started! Turnnnn Up!! Check them out below! I’m twerkin’ in my seat as I type! LOL

Balloon Twerk








DJ Yellow Claw “DJ Turn It Up”

Diplo “Express Yourself” feat. Nicky Da B 

Riff Raff “Dolce & Gabbana” 

For more info and to check out their extensive roster of artists…visit Thank me later!