Grand Appreciation vol 3: Cookin’ Soul

When I returned from Winter break I had the urge to seek out LIVE soul music in the Valencia area.  Something that would take me to church.  Since The A69s don’t play every week, I turned to Google and searched the words “soul” and “Valencia”.  Randomly did I come across Cookin’ Soul.

CSLOGO2013

 

CS Promo 4

In the small town that is Valencia, Spain lies a hidden gem.  Maybe not so hidden to the rest of the world but I did not expect two grammy award winning producers to be based out of Valencia.

Cookin’ Soul is the grammy award winning production team and DJs Big Size & Zock.  They have produced tracks for big names such as Nicki Minaj, The Game, and Redman just to name a few.

If you’ve never heard of Cookin’ Soul, give them a listen on SoundCloud.  If you like what you hear, you can buy their entire mix tape collection for the LOW low price of 9.95€!!!

So I listened to their SoundCloud and I bought their entire album and I paid especially close attention to an artist that they recently produced for, MC Melodee.  She very much reminds me of MCs like Queen Latifah, Bahamadia, Mystic, Foxy, Lil’ Kim.  Call me an ignorant American but I was surprised to find that MC Melodee is from The Netherlands.  Say what?  Well then… Hip Hop has hope in the world yet!!

1982031_620395334707630_305173218_n

 

If you haven’t heard of MC Melodee I highly recommend you give her a listen.

We need more Hip Hop in the world with Cookin’ Soul tracks and Melodee MCs.

2 thoughts on “Grand Appreciation vol 3: Cookin’ Soul

Leave a Reply

