Back to the “oldies*” !

newspapers

And so it seams I’m back to the oldies, my not-so-fan-of old Journalism!!! 🙂

So after readapting to our new structure at Disrupción Records, I was somehow back into trying to write interesting stuff, information worth reading but having in mind possible keywords in the content, as well as our beloved links.

LoisLaneI spent 5 years in Madrid -fortunately one of them back in Rome!- studying a double degree in Journalism and Audiovisual Communication. Five years. I do like journalism and on top of it, good journalists. People like Ryszard Kapuscinski have definitely been an inspiration at many different levels, but the degree -at least at my University- was a bit disappointing.

I’m sure that this fact influenced my decision to try and head for a slightly different path and walk away from my journalist days, but many years later it seams like I’m back to the 5 W’s and the inverted pyramid.

At Disrupción Records, we’ve started to dig into the communication strategy we’re going to follow, and the first steps are writing one short press release about the launch of the label, another one about the launch / showcase event, and a longer one with information about our four artists. As well as this, we’re planning and gathering all the information in order to have electronic press kits ready for every artist, including photos and videos.

So I was in charge of drafting possible press releases, which will be shaped further on as more details – such as our website – are ready. My first move was to grab a piece of paper and a pencil, to start brainstorming… And the first thing that came to my head was obviously the inverted pyramid and the 5 W’s:

  • Who is it about?
  • What happened?
  • Where did it take place?
  • When did it take place?
  • Why did it happen?

The only problem I had was actually finding the words in spanish, for I don’t frequently write in spanish anymore… which hasJournalism is

motivated me to start carrying my little notebook around once again! After dealing with the headline (remember: <10 words / <70 characters), the well known lead or opening paragraph, and the body, I did some research on potential communication agencies that might be a good solution to distribute all our content to the media, and reach a broader audience. This was also useful as I was able to update myself on the situation of these platforms nowadays.

The marketing team at Disrupción Records has also been working on finding and starting negotiations with potential venues for the launch event / gala we would like to do at the end of the semester.

brandjournalismThe website is still in the oven.. whereas the social media is already growing step by step! And regarding our estimated expenses, these are still being “estimated” in a very responsible way 😉

 

 

 

 

 

 

As always in Berklee College of Music’s Valencia Campus, weeks go by too quickly. This means we’ve got plenty of work to do and not that much time left. But it is always nice to go back in time, it helps you not forget what you’ve already learnt!

As always, I’ll close up with a related song ! ! !

Bob Ruzicka “Golden Oldie”

*Oldies: Radio format that concentrates on music from a period of about 15 to 55 years before the present day.

Leave a Reply

