MIDEM

Thanks Alexandre for being so chouette!

Thanks Alexandre for being so chouette!

 

Nicole a.k.a. partner in crime

Nicole a.k.a. partner in crime

 

141a management represent!

141a management represent!

 

Supporting Andrew!

Supporting Andrew!

 

Nicole and Daniel beautifully singing Love Song.

Nicole and Daniel beautifully singing Love Song.

 

IMG_4827

It may be a little late to write my review about Midem, but it was such an impressionable weekend that the experience feels like it happened just yesterday. I went into Midem not really having a lot of expectations. I just knew that I wanted to go and learn about the music industry. One of the first conferences I attended was at the Brands & Fans Central area. The topic being presented was about marketing. I learned that marketing nowadays has to dive into emotions and impact people through feelings as opposed to using straight to the point facts and science. Launching a product has to be impactful and cool. The experience aspect has to be real, easily understandable, and emotional. The innovation process has to become part of a sharing economy. With all of these qualities in a marketing campaign, creativity, new relationships, and value are added to the product. Well, cool stuff to hear, I thought to myself. After this, my friend Nicole and I decided to hit up the speed meetings. We ended up meeting Michael Bisping from a.s.s. concerts and promotions. He was quite a lovely guy who answered our question “What advice can you give a college student before graduating?” He said to get an internship. Pretty much every person we asked that question to gave us this same answer- such disappointing advice. Michael actually ended up sitting with us for a little while during his lunch break and we talked about how record labels are slowly going downhill. He stated that record labels should head towards entrepreneurship in order for them to rise up again which was far more insightful than our speed meeting conversation. Nicole and I finished the day attending another marketing clinic hosted by Berklee’s very own Emilien Moyon. We went over the RIVE mapping to direct an artist with a pretty decent fan base into the direction of superior fame. It was a challenging task but our team was very persistent and creative in finding the best career path for our assigned artist. The next few days at Midem were spent pretty much doing the same. I saw and interview with Lyor Cohen, founder and CEO of 300 and heard Martin F. Frascogna speak about the art of deal making. I also heard Rita Ora speak about her experience in the music industry. I’m not going to lie; a lot of the information I was hearing at the conference was stuff I had already learned about from studying at Berklee. Although I knew this, I made sure to take this seriously because it was a very new experience for me and had never been surrounded by so many music professionals. For the most part, my Midem experience was positive but there were a few unpleasant experiences that made me question the professionalism of the music industry. It was difficult to hear many negative opinions as to where the industry is going. Although there were many inspirational speakers, some of them seemed to be spewing long winded rants that went in circles or just trying to sell their business in some sly way. At the after parties my eyes were opened to the dirt you hear about the industry and how those who held high ranking positions are perceived. I did meet some very genuine people who had my best interest at heart and wanted to maintain contact to potentially work with me in the future. However, there were some who abused their status and seemed more interested in trying to chat up the women. The behavior of some of the intoxicated music business professionals put me a little on edge due to their lack of maintaining boundaries from one colleague to another. Midem definitely had its ups and downs but I feel like I put my best foot forward and received the most that I could out of the experience.

Leave a Reply

