“Culpa Mia”

“CULPA MÍA” – Buika (SPAIN)

“There is no sun
Illuminating the sky
Only stars
In the heaven above
While it is night
And the day comes
Nothing illuminates
This pain of mine

This pain of mine
A crazy flower
That kills my soul
Bittersweetly, little by little
And my dreams
I’ve never hurt so much
This suffering is killing me

It was raining
That afternoon you left
Even the thought of you
Makes me sad

You’re gone forever
And always remember
I think that it was all my fault
When you talked
I did not answer you
I was to blame for all the silence

I am to blame for not answering your calls
I am to blame for allowing you to leave
I am to blame for giving you my soul without thinking
I am to blame for going through pain

It was raining
That afternoon you left
Even the thought of you
Makes me sad

The first moon
From the first night
We danced non-stop because of me
A smile
Almost all the songs
And the evening by the sea was my fault

I am to blame for the memories we made
I am to blame for making you wait
I am to blame for giving you my soul without thinking
I am to blame for going through pain

I am to blame for not answering your calls
I am to blame for allowing you to leave
I am to blame for giving you my soul without thinking
I am to blame for going through pain

It was raining
That afternoon you left
Oh, I am still thinking of you all the time”

CONCHA BUIKA

Award-winning, humble, stern, ahead of her time, all to describe the woman that is Buika. Raised in Palma de Mallorca, Spain, after her family fled Guinea to live in exile because of her father’s involvement in pro-democracy movements, Buika was not born with a silver spoon in her mouth. Instead, she absorbed the life around her and translated her experiences into a universal language that soon mesmerized anyone who listened to her unique voice. She blends her African roots into what can be compared with flamenco and copla, involving very expressive styles of singing. This genre of new flamenco was brought to life by her dry vocals over such rich melodies to quench her thirst, such as the saturating drumming of Horacio Hernandez, also known as “El Negro” or one of Buika’s lovers amongst few other men and women from her past. Her songs are partially written by the notorious Javier Limon, an Andalusian composer who is best known for his compositions for Bebo Valdés and Paco de Lucia.

FLAMENCO & FRANCO

Dating back to the late 1700’s, music was necessary to uproot the voice of grieving Gypsies who were facing discrimination and persecution then and for hundreds of years to come. Thus, gitano, or gypsy, music was created and served to account for collective solidarity amongst the tortured, harassed, and murdered Romani people in Spain until the end of Francisco Franco’s regime. Censorship was even favored when the Andalusians, and others fascinated, wanted to share with the world the Gypsy-influenced art of flamenco, which consists of expressive soulful singing, usually of mourning, musical accompaniment including clapping, also known as palmas, all while a dancer illustrates the emotion throughout their body. During Franco’s propaganda operations in the beginning of his rule that was to last over three decades, Flamenco documentaries such as, “Duende,” and “A Través del Flamenco” were subject to his bigotry. In those tampered videos, voice-overs, insertion of promotional propaganda to foreground the state under his control can be found and distressed.

By Neda Shahram

 

Leave a Reply

